Sheikh Adan Madobe wins speaker of Somalia’s 11th parliament


Sheikh Adan Mohamed Nur Madobe has won the post of speaker of Somalia’s 11th parliament, after losing in the second round to lawmaker Hassan Abdinur who was the most popular candidate in the first round.

Candidate Adan Madobe received 163 votes, while Hassan Abdinur received 89 votes.

This is the second time he has served as speaker of parliament, having previously served as speaker of parliament during the AUN government, Abdullahi Yusuf, following the resignation of Sharif Hassan Sheikh Aden.

Aden Madobe’s victory marks a major victory for the pro-reform candidates, who have succeeded in ousting Hassan Abdi Nur, who had the most votes in the first round.

Hassan Abdinur was considered a close ally of the late President Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo.

The votes of the MPs who resigned from Sheikh Adan Madobe, changed the direction of the election in the second round, hastening the victory of Sheikh Adan Madobe.

Aden Madobe’s victory could dampen the hopes of President Farmajo’s return, according to Somali political analysts, who believe the election of a speaker of parliament is the deciding factor in who will win the presidency.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here